Posted in Uncategorized

Pat Vachon Photography

Photography has become my life.  I started taking photos when I was 16.  It was my first true family vacation and we went to British Columbia for 2 weeks.

My parents let me use their 35mm point and shoot camera.  I remember it fondly.  It was a Kodak.  I took a lot of pictures on that trip and the excitement of getting them developed and seeing what I had taken.

As you can see from the scans, not the greatest in terms of quality, but at the time, they were the most amazing things I had seen.  Looking back, that is when I became hooked on photography.

I bought my first SLR when I was 19.  It was a Nikon F90.  It had  a typical kit lens.  Shortly after I bought my first zoom lens.  I didn’t want to live with just using the Auto feature.  So I took a course at night school through Durham College.  I also began to practice my photography skills when I was volunteering with a youth group for people with special needs.

It was during this time as well that my love and passion for working with those who are differently able.  To this day  I still continue to devote my life to working with them.

I bought my first digital SLR when I was around 25.  It was a Nikon as well, a D50.  I truly loved that camera.  I took it everywhere.  It was with that camera that I started my semi-professional career as a photographer.

I now currently use a Nikon D7000 and a Nikon D90.  I am a lover of Nikon and even more a lover of photography.

Author:

i am a Husband & Father. I work with people with special needs, as well as do Wedding and Portraits in the Peterborough Ontario area. I love to explore new and abandoned places. I dream of traveling more and love to talk about photography

Leave a Reply

