Posted in explore

Old vs New in the South

I did something I love while down here in the South.  I went exploring.   I made a stop at what was originally a mid-century small town hospital.  It has seen other uses since then.  Most notably the original home of the Cabbage Patch Kids. Old BLGH

As you can see now it sits empty.  It is sad fact of North America that buildings that once served a purpose for so long are simply cast aside for newer, more modern or bigger.  The new home of the Cabbage Patch Kids is very much like that.

new blgh

Although it is an amazing piece of architecture, it is sad that the old building is only a short time away from being vandalized.  One thing I never like to see is buildings just being left to rot (although I must say it makes for amazing photos).

I’ve also been exploring what I must say the South seems to be known for, and that is Antique Stores.  We visited 3 different towns so far and have seen some interesting examples of Vintage items as well as various crafts from local artisans.  I have thoroughly enjoyed checking them out.  It is definitely one of both me and my wife’s favorite past times.

 

 

Author:

i am a Husband & Father. I work with people with special needs, as well as do Wedding and Portraits in the Peterborough Ontario area. I love to explore new and abandoned places. I dream of traveling more and love to talk about photography

Leave a Reply

